Featured Programming

Agenda Subject to Change
Return to Conference & Expo Info

Day One: Tuesday, November 10, 2020

Next Frontier Conference & Expo Kickoff

7:30 a.m. PST/10:30 a.m. EST

WELCOME

  • Landon Taylor, Founder & Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners
  • Michelle Flowers Taylor, Ed.D., emcee,  Co-founder and CEO, Legacy First Partners

NEXT FRONTIER INITIATIVE

  • Leland Melvin, Astronaut; Corporate Director, BWX Technologies Inc; National Spokesperson, Base 11
  • Al Bunshaft, Senior Vice President, Dassault Systèmes and President of the Dassault Systèmes US Foundation
  • Landon Taylor, Founder & Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners

THE FUTURE IS HERE! INSPIRING BASE 11 STUDENT SUCCESS STORIES

  • Jade Kim, Student Success Specialist, Base 11
  • Breanna Allen, Base 11 Fellow & Victory Circle; graduate, Michigan State University; Founder, med tech startup in NSF I-Corps Program
  • Francisco Gomez, Base 11 Fellow & Victory Circle; graduate, University of California, Irvine; Mechanical Project Engineer, Accudyne Engineering

Resumes are Dead: Introducing  Base 11 Digital Portfolios powered by Tallo

In an increasingly competitive marketplace, employers and potential employees need to be able to tap into well curated collections of talent pools and job opportunities. Already with over 1,000,000 users, the Tallo platform is specifically designed to connect students to opportunities and connect employers with talented students. Base 11 Digital Portfolios, powered by Tallo, is a state-of-the-art solution bringing together the right people and the right jobs for an incredible career journey. Join this session to learn more and to get yourself connected to this powerful platform.

  • Casey Welch, Co-founder, President & CEO, Tallo

Next Frontier Spotlight: Aerospace

8:10 a.m. PST/11:10 a.m. EST 

Shooting for the Stars: Morgan State & Purdue Dual Aerospace Program

With a $1.6 million grant from Base 11, Morgan State University became the first HBCU to establish a liquid-fuel rocketry lab and training program. Discover how Morgan State’s partnership with Purdue University is expanding the pipeline of diverse talent for the nation’s growing aerospace industry.

  • Al Bunshaft, Senior Vice President, Dassault Systèmes and President of the Dassault Systèmes US Foundation
  • David Wilson, President, Morgan State University
  • Ingrid Ellerbe, Executive Director, Base 11

STEM Career Playbook featuring Gwynne Shotwell, President & COO, SpaceX

  • Leland Melvin, Astronaut; Corporate Director, BWX Technologies Inc; National Spokesperson, Base 11
  • Gwynne Shotwell, President & COO, SpaceX

STARS Documentary Screening

  • Leland Melvin, Astronaut; Corporate Director, BWX Technologies Inc; National Spokesperson, Base 11
  • Michelle Flowers Taylor, Ed.D., emcee and Co-founder and CEO, Legacy First Partners

30 Minute Break

9 a.m. PST/Noon EST 

Support Next Frontier Initiative  •  Visit Booths  •  Network in the Lounge • Games & Trivia

Next Frontier Social Justice Spotlight: The Parity Project, A Plan for Achieving Parity for Black America

9:30 a.m. PST/12:30 p.m. EST

Introduced and moderated by Alaina Beverly, Former Obama White House Office of Urban Affairs Official, National Deputy Director for African American Outreach for Obama for America ’08, and frequent political commentator

 

Base 11 & Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity (aka the Boulé) Next Frontier Initiative Partnership

  • Dwayne Murray, Grand Sire Archon, Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity, aka the Boulé
  • Preston Castille, Chairman of the Grand Committee on HBCUs and Postsecondary Education Access for Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity, aka the Boulé
  • Paul Griffin Jr., Chair, Grand Social Action Committee, Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity aka the Boulé
  • Doug Bender, Vice Chairman, Base 11
  • Landon Taylor, Founder & Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners

Next Frontier Innovation Challenge Announcement: Boulé Fellows Challenge

A national challenge that will provide demanding one- to two-year fellowships to high-achieving African American students and young adults from across the country, designed to prepare them to become Next Frontier industry leaders of the 21st Century.

  • Dwayne Murray, Grand Sire Archon, Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity, aka the Boulé
  • Paul Griffin Jr., Chair, Grand Social Action Committee, Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity aka the Boulé
  • Ingrid Ellerbe, Executive Director, Base 11

BouleDirectors.org Highlight: Achieving Parity by Increasing African American Representation in the Corporate Boardroom

Building a Next Frontier Industry Director Pipeline for the Long Term: BouleDircectors.org: Achieving Parity for Black America by increasing African American representation in the Fortune 500, Russell 3000, Private Equity, and Venture Capital Board Rooms

  • Introduction by Alaina Beverly, Former Obama White House Office of Urban Affairs Official, National Deputy Director for African American Outreach for Obama for America ’08, and frequent political commentator
  • Tracy Porter, Chairman, NFL Alumni Association and Chairman, Blacks on Corporate Boards Committee, Sigma Phi Phi Fraternity, aka the Boulé

Winning the War for Talent: Why Diverse Leadership Teams Outperform Financially

10:00 a.m. PST/1:00 p.m. EST

 

Diversity & Inclusion Talent & Market Development Leaders Panel Discussion

  • Introduced and moderated by Alaina Beverly, Former Obama White House Office of Urban Affairs Official, National Deputy Director for African American Outreach for Obama for America ’08, and frequent political commentator
  • Greg Jones, Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer, KeyBank
  • Lynne Caljouw, Chief Human Resource Officer, Sensata Technologies
  • Kathy Bihr, Ed.D., Vice President, Programs and Education, Tiger Woods Foundation

First Day Closing Session

Enjoy Expo, Networking & Activities

11 a.m. PST/2 p.m. EST

Support Next Frontier Initiative  •  Visit Booths  •  Network in the Lounge • Games & Trivia

Conference & Expo remains open until 1:30 p.m. PST/ 4:30 p.m. EST

Next Frontier Leaders VIP Session (by invitation only)

11:30 a.m. PST/2:30 p.m. EST

VIP attendees will have the opportunity to join an engaging fireside chat with Seattle Seahawks SVP and general counsel Ed Goines, and astronaut, venture capital partner, and former NFL player Leland Melvin.   The fireside chat will be moderated by Orlando Ashford, former president of Holland America Line and author most recently of How did you get THAT JOB?: 8 Principles To Accelerate Your Career and Soar In Corporate America, a look at the “rules and tools” in navigating corporate America, with perspectives and advice for those managing their own journey. 

Day TWO: Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Welcome & Opening

7:30 a.m. PST/10:30 a.m. EST

 

Day 2 Welcome & Opening

  • Landon Taylor, Founder and Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners
  • Michelle Flowers Taylor, Ed.D., emcee, Co-founder and CEO, Legacy First Partners

Next Frontier Spotlight: Life Sciences

7:35 a.m. PST/10:35 a.m. EST

Why Life Sciences Is Transforming the World as We Know It

  • Richard Sudek, Executive Director, UCI Beall Applied Innovation
  • Dr. Leen Kawas, CEO, Athira Pharma

STEM Career Playbook featuring Fred Lowery, President, Life Sciences Solutions and Laboratory Products, Thermo Fisher Scientific

  • Leland Melvin, Astronaut; Corporate Director, BWX Technologies Inc; National Spokesperson, Base 11
  • Fred Lowery, President, Life Sciences Solutions and Laboratory Products, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Next Frontier Innovation Challenge Announcement – Life Sciences

Next Frontier Women’s Empowerment: Why Gender Equity Can’t Wait

8:10 a.m. PST/11:10 a.m. EST

WHY GENDER EQUITY CAN’T WAIT 

  • Introduction by Ingrid Ellerbe, Executive Director, Base 11
  • Julie Hill, Corporate Director for Anthem and Chairperson, UC Irvine Foundation

STEM CAREER PLAYBOOK FEATURING OLABISI BOYLE, VICE PRESIDENT, HYUNDAI MOTER AMERICA

  • Leland Melvin, Astronaut; Corporate Director, BWX Technologies Inc; National Spokesperson, Base 11
  • Olabisi Boyle, Vice President, Product Planning and Mobility Strategy, Hyundai Motor North America

WOMEN IN ENGINEERING PANEL DISCUSSION, SPONSORED BY DASSAULT SYSTEMES

  • Moderated by Al Bunshaft, Senior Vice President, Dassault Systèmes and President of the Dassault Systèmes US Foundation
  • Brenda MedinaVice President of Technology Delivery and Vendor Operations, Medidata, a Dassault Systemes Company
  • Jessica Kinman, Industry Solution Experience Senior Manager with Dassault Systèmes
  • Angela Regan, Worldwide Business Development Director at Dassault Systemes’ DELMIA Brand for Digital Manufacturing

30 Minute Break

9 a.m. PST/Noon EST

Support Next Frontier Initiative  •  Visit Booths  •  Network in the Lounge • Games & Trivia

Next Frontier Spotlight: Emerging Industries

9:30 a.m. PST/12:30 p.m. EST

Emerging Next Frontier Industries to Watch

Next Frontier industry leaders share their insights on the top growth segments to watch and how to position yourself to enter and capture your share of the opportunity.

  • Eric Kelly, Chairman & CEO, Overland Tandberg, Inc.

3DS Innovation Challenge Announcement

The CA-2035 Electronic Vehicle Challenge

  • Al Bunshaft, Senior Vice President, Dassault Systèmes and President of the Dassault Systèmes US Foundation

Next Frontier Spotlight: Fintech

9:45 a.m. PST/12:45 p.m. EST

FinTech: Why Now

The fintech industry is expected to reach a market size of $300+billion by 2022.  These dynamic Next Frontier industry leaders will share their insights on why the opportunity to enter the industry as a diverse tech worker or entrepreneur has never been better than right now, and will reveal their top three big ideas and strategies for what college graduates, early career professionals and entrepreneurs should do to claim their share of the $300+ billion fintech opportunity.

  • Moderated by Landon Taylor, Founder & Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners
  • Sig Anderman, Founder, Ellie Mae
  • Gary Acosta, Co-founder and CEO, NAHREP
  • Lisa Rice, President & CEO, National Fair Housing Alliance
  • Jim Park,CEO, The Mortgage Collaborative and Past Chairman, Asian Real Estate Association of America (AREAA)
  • Leo Pareja, Co-founder and CEO, Remine

Next Frontier Innovation Challenge Announcement – Fintech

These Next Frontier industry leaders will shine a national spotlight on the Keys Unlock Dreams and Tech Equality Initiatives and the big opportunities they are creating for tech innovators in the fintech industry. 

  • Lisa Rice, President & CEO, National Fair Housing Alliance
  • Allana McCargo, Vice President, Housing Finance Policy, Urban Institute
  • Landon Taylor, Founder & Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners

 

Next Frontier STEM Career Playbook Strategies Spotlight

11 a.m. PST/2 p.m. EST

Career Playbook Strategies Panel

Discover innovative technology platforms that provide bridges to the access, awareness and belief students need to become the rising generation of Next Frontier leaders.

  • Moderated by Regina Stanback Stround, Corporate Director, Base 11 and President Emeritus, Skyline College

Base 11 Next Frontier Digital Platform 

  •  Jade Kim, Student Success Specialist, Base 11

STEMconnector by Pod.io

  •  Jo Webber, Founder & CEO, Pod
  • Denielle Pemberton-HeardGeneral Counsel and Managing Director, Diversified Search

Unmudl 

  • Parminder Jassal, Founder and CEO, Socialtech.ai

Next Frontier Spotlight: Edtech

11:20 a.m. PST/2:20 p.m. EST

The Disruption of Higher Education

Innovative leaders in academia speak to the impact of COVID-19 and what they are doing to ensure that students from underserved communities continue to thrive under their leadership.

  • Moderated by Greg Washington, President, George Mason University
  • Joseph Castro, President, California State University, Fresno
  • Eloy Ortiz Oakley, Chancellor, California Community College District
  • Gilda Barabino, President, Olin College of Engineering

Closing Session

12:20 p.m. PST/3:20 p.m. EST

Next Frontier Conference & Expo Closing Session

  • Michelle Flowers Taylor, Ed.D., emcee, Co-founder and CEO, Legacy First Partners
  • Landon Taylor, Founder & Chairman, Base 11 and Co-founder, Legacy First Partners
  • Al Bunshaft, Senior Vice President, Dassault Systèmes and President of the Dassault Systèmes US Foundation

Enjoy Expo, Networking & Activities

12:30 p.m. PST/3:30 p.m. EST

Support Next Frontier Initiative  •  Visit Booths  •  Network in the Lounge • Games & Trivia

Next Frontier Conference & Expo 2020 Ends   

Thank you for joining us!

2 p.m. PST/5 p.m. EST